Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

POSTPONED: The Role of Adhesion Complexes, Cell Recognition, and Neural Activity during Circuit Assembly

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

POSTPONED: The Role of Adhesion Complexes, Cell Recognition, and Neural Activity during Circuit Assembly

addthis-addthis_block | block

Share this Event

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
October 10 - 13, 2021
node:field_image | entity_field
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

This meeting will focus on molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying the formation of precise patterns of synaptic connectivity. Over the past decade, considerable progress has been made in uncovering the molecular identity and structure of adhesion complexes at synapses, diverse cell surface recognition molecules contributing to wiring specificity, and the role of activity in sculpting the neural circuitry. In parallel, detailed connectomics at the light microscopy and EM level have uncovered the extraordinary specificity and complexity of connectivity, and single cell sequencing has defined cell types and cell-type specific patterns of cell-surface protein expression during circuit assembly. Light microscopic techniques from super-resolution to expansion microscopy and live imaging have led to important advances in uncovering cell biological mechanisms of circuit assembly. Presentations and discussions will highlight important advances in the field and consider current challenges and future directions.

node_body | node_body


Tom Sudhof, HHMI/Stanford University
Rachel Wong, University of Washington
Larry Zipursky, HHMI/University of California, Los Angeles

Invited Participants

Orkun Akin, University of California, Los Angeles
Nicola Allen, Salk Institute
Demet Arac, University of Chicago
Robert Carrillo, University of Chicago
Xin Duan, University of California, San Francisco
Michael Greenberg, Harvard University
Moritz Helmstaedter, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research
Robin Hiesinger, Free University of Berlin
Daniel Kerschensteiner, Washington University 
Eunjoon Kim, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Guillermina Lopez-Bendito, Miguel Hernandez University
Liqun Luo, HHMI/Stanford University
Joshua Morgan, Washington University School of Medicine
Ai Nakashima, University of Tokyo
Zoltan Nusser, Institute of Experimental Medicine
Engin Ozkan, University of Chicago
Beatriz Rico, King's College London
Gabrielle Rudenko, University of Texas Medical Branch
Joshua Sanes, Harvard University
Dorothy Schafer, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Louis Scheffer, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Peter Scheiffele, University of Basel 
Dietmar Schmucker, VIB-KU Leuven
Elena Seiradake, University of Oxford
Lawrence Shapiro, Columbia University
Kang Shen, HHMI/Stanford University
Bosiljka Tasic, Allen Institute for Brain Science
Hisashi Umemori, Harvard Medical School
Joshua Weiner, University of Iowa
Marta Zlatic, University of Cambridge