Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

The Feeling Within: Molecules to Behavior Underlying Interoception (POSTPONED)

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

The Feeling Within: Molecules to Behavior Underlying Interoception (POSTPONED)

addthis-addthis_block | block

Share this Event

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
April 28 - May 1, 2020
node:field_image | entity_field


node:field_content_summary | entity_field

The brain is constantly monitoring how one is feeling and functioning - information which is essential to evaluate if an organism is ill, hungry, or short of breath. At the least, such feedback from within enables computation and action to be prioritized for optimum output; at the extreme, it ensures survival. However, little is known about how the brain monitors and reacts to the constantly changing internal physiology. While there has been rapid progress in understanding exteroception, less is known on how we sense and process information from within the organism, such as hunger, respiration, circulation, and excretion. This conference will offer a multidisciplinary approach to discuss recent advances in interoception, by defining the signals that monitor internal states to identifying critical neuronal circuits that drive behavior.

Application Deadline: January 2, 2020 (11:59 p.m. EST)

node_body | node_body


Ardem Patapoutian, HHMI/Scripps Research 
Lisa Stowers, Scripps Research

Invited Participants

Mark Andermann, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center    
Nicholas Betley, University of Pennsylvania    
Lisa Beutler, Northwestern University    
Arthur Beyder, Mayo Clinic    
Clemence Blouet, University of Cambridge    
Diego Bohorquez, Duke University    
Isaac Chiu, Harvard Medical School    
Ivan de Araujo, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai    
Monica Dus, University of Michigan    
Sarah Garfinkel, University of Sussex    
Paul Garrity, Brandeis University    
Elena Gracheva, Yale School of Medicine    
Lora Heisler, University of Aberdeen    
David Julius, University of California, San Francisco    
Sahib Khalsa, Laureate Institute for Brain Research    
Bradford Lowell, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center    
Lindsey Macpherson, University of Texas at San Antonio    
Kara Marshall, Scripps Research    
Mark Nelson, University of Vermont    
Yuki Oka, California Institute of Technology    
Vassilis Pachnis, Francis Crick Institute    
Richard Palmiter, HHMI/University of Washington    
Kalyanam Shivkumar, University of California, Los Angeles    
Scott Sternson, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI    
Xin Sun, University of California, San Diego     
Li Ye, Scripps Research    
Charles Zuker, HHMI/Columbia University