Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

Karel Svoboda and Winfried Denk Share Brain Prize

custom | custom
custom | custom

03/11/15 | Karel Svoboda and Winfried Denk Share Brain Prize

addthis-addthis_block | block

Share this Post

node:field_image | entity_field
Svoboda: Exploring Brain Dynamics
node:body | entity_field

Group Leader Karel Svoboda and Senior Fellow Winfried Denk (also of the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research) are two of four scientists awarded The Brain Prize for the invention and development of two-photon microscopy, a transformative tool in brain research.

Svoboda and Denk share the prize with David Tank of Princeton University and a member of the Janelia Advisory Committee; and Arthur Konnerth of the Institute for Neuroscience at the Technical University Munich. The four will split the roughly $1.1 million award.

“Karel was the first neurobiologist recruited to Janelia and he has been a key force in Janelia’s intellectual development,” said Gerald Rubin, executive director of Janelia and vice president at HHMI. “It is great to see his achievements recognized by this prize.”

The Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation awards the prize to one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by an outstanding contribution to European neuroscience and who are still active in research. The Brain Prize recognizes highly original and influential advances in any area of neuroscience.

Read more from HHMI News