Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

Challenges in Structural Biology

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

Challenges in Structural Biology

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
October 15 - 18, 2017
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

Advances in light sources and other instrumentation over the last 20 years have pushed the limits of what can be studied by various structural biology methods. Larger, much more challenging molecular ensembles have been studied at unprecedented resolutions, and with ever-smaller and challenging specimens. Hardware and computational developments, particularly in data reduction and modeling, contribute critically to this work. The main goal of this meeting is to highlight the current challenges in structural biology and to stimulate cooperation between theory and experiment. Talks will focus on challenges in structural biology including sample preparation, crystal growth, data collection, processing, and structural dynamics and will span the full gamut of nanocrystallography including XFELs and MicroED, as well as single particle electron cryomicroscopy and complementary methods.

APPLICATION DEADLINE: MAY 31, 2017 (11:59 pm).

node_body | node_body

Tamir Gonen, HHMI/ University of California, Los Angeles

Jose Rodriguez, University of California, Los Angeles
Ilme Schlichting, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research

Invited Participants

Andrew Aquila, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Thomas Barends, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research
Aaron Brewster, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Guillermo Calero, University of Pittsburgh                                        
Henry Chapman, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron
Yifan Cheng, HHMI/University of California, San Diego
Jacques-Philippe Colletier, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
Karen Davies, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
David Eisenberg, HHMI/University of California, Los Angeles
James Fraser, University of California, San Francisco
Marcus Gallagher-Jones, University of California, Los Angeles
Helen Ginn, University of Oxford
Johan Hattne, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Jan Kern, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory 
Loes Kroon-Batenburg, Utrecht University
Michael Martynowycz, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Eiichi Mizohata , Osaka University
Garib Murshudov, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Brent Nannenga, Arizona State University
Jelena Ninkovic, Max Planck Society Semiconductor Laboratory
Robin Owen, Diamond Light Source
Robert Rambo, Diamond Light Source
Carolin Seuring, The Center for Free-Electron Laser Science (CFEL)
Thomas Terwilliger, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Henry van den Bedem, Stanford University
Hong Zhou, University of California, Los Angeles