Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

The Role of Adhesion Complexes, Cell Recognition, and Neural Activity during Circuit Assembly

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

The Role of Adhesion Complexes, Cell Recognition, and Neural Activity during Circuit Assembly

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
May 21 - 24, 2023
node:field_image | entity_field
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

This meeting will focus on molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying the formation of precise patterns of synaptic connectivity. Over the past decade, considerable progress has been made in uncovering the molecular identity and structure of adhesion complexes at synapses, diverse cell surface recognition molecules contributing to wiring specificity, and the role of activity in sculpting the neural circuitry. In parallel, detailed connectomics at the light microscopy and EM level have uncovered the extraordinary specificity and complexity of connectivity, and single cell sequencing has defined cell types and cell-type specific patterns of cell-surface protein expression during circuit assembly. Light microscopic techniques from super-resolution to expansion microscopy and live imaging have led to important advances in uncovering cell biological mechanisms of circuit assembly. Presentations and discussions will highlight important advances in the field and consider current challenges and future directions.

Applications are closed.


node_body | node_body


Tom Sudhof, HHMI/Stanford University
Rachel Wong, University of Washington
Larry Zipursky, HHMI/University of California, Los Angeles

Invited Participants

Orkun Akin, University of California, Los Angeles
Nicola Allen, Salk Institute
Demet Arac, University of Chicago
Julia Brasch, University of Utah
Robert Carrillo, University of Chicago
Lu Chen, Stanford University
Xin Duan, University of California, San Francisco
Marla Feller, University of California, Berkeley
Yukiko Goda, RIKEN
Moritz Helmstaedter, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research
Robin Hiesinger, Free University of Berlin
Barry Honig, Columbia University
Daniel Kerschensteiner, Washington University 
Eunjoon Kim, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Yerbol Kurmangaliyev, Brandeis University
Guillermina Lopez-Bendito, Miguel Hernandez University
Shan Meltzer, Harvard Medical School
Joshua Morgan, Washington University School of Medicine
Ai Nakashima, University of Tokyo
Zoltan Nusser, Institute of Experimental Medicine
Engin Ozkan, University of Chicago
Yi-Rong Peng, University of California, Los Angeles
Polyxeni Philippidou, Case Western Reserve University
Beatriz Rico, King's College London
Gabrielle Rudenko, University of Texas Medical Branch
Dorothy Schafer, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Louis Scheffer, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Peter Scheiffele, University of Basel 
Dietmar Schmucker, University Bonn
Fekrije Selimi, Collège de France
Sebastian Seung, Princeton University
Kang Shen, HHMI/Stanford University
Josh Trachtenberg, University of California, Los Angeles
Hisashi Umemori, Harvard Medical School
Megan Williams, University of Utah
Hongkui Zeng, Allen Institute for Brain Science
Kai Zinn, California Institute of Technology