Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

Neuro-Evo: A Comparative Approach to Cracking Circuit Function III

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

Neuro-Evo: A Comparative Approach to Cracking Circuit Function III

addthis-addthis_block | block

Share this Event

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
March 28 - 31, 2021
node:field_image | entity_field
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

Neural circuits implement transfer functions that combine sensory inputs and prior experience to choose a behavioral response. Historically, the study of the most convenient animal models —from the giant axon of the squid and the lobster's stomatogastric circuits to Aplysia's synapses and C. elegans' circuits — neuroscientists revealed some of the operating principles of the nervous system, which were then found to apply broadly across phyla. The third installment of this meeting will once again bring together neuroscientists working on a broad diversity of animal models in an effort to compare circuits across phyla as a means to crack their function.

node_body | node_body


Albert Cardona, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
David Stern, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Maria Tosches, Columbia University

Invited Participants

Detlev Arendt, European Molecular Biology Laboratory
Clare Baker, University of Cambridge
Richard Benton, University of Lausanne
Ronald Calabrese, Emory University/eLife
Marios Chatzigeorgiou, University of Bergen
Claude Desplan, New York University
Yun Ding, University of Pennsylvania
Suzana Herculano-Houzel, Vanderbilt University
Gaspar Jekely, University of Exeter
Paul Katz, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Sarah Kocher, Princeton University
Gilles Laurent, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research
Leonid Moroz, University of Florida
Geoffrey North, Current Biology, Cell Press
Lauren O'Connell, Stanford University
Tomoko Ohyama, McGill University
Alexey Polilov, Moscow State University
Lucia Prieto-Godino, The Francis Crick Institute
Kerry Shaw, Cornell University
Nicholas Strausfeld, University of Arizona
Shreyas Suryanarayana, Karolinska Institute
Lora Sweeney, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
James Truman, University of Washington
Darren Williams, King's College London
Gabriella Wolff, University of Washington
Michael Yartsev, University of California, Berkeley