Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

Computational Optics

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

Computational Optics

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
May 19 - 22, 2024
node:field_image | entity_field
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

Computational imaging methods combine optics with computation to design imaging systems that are smaller, faster, cheaper, or able to image new things. Machine learning and differentiable optics simulators play a key role in this field, both for solving inverse problems and for modeling and designing optics. This conference will convene experts in optics (microscopy, photography, astronomy) and machine learning and optical modeling, with the goal of generating new synergies among them. We hope to advance the field of computational imaging by delineating and discussing common problems, solutions, and applications in each sub-field.

Janelia will cover lodging and meals for all participants, and travel support is available to those in need (please indicate need in that portion of the application). Participants are expected to stay for the duration of the workshop and will also have an opportunity to extend their stay for continued discussion and collaborative time. 

The meeting will begin at 6pm ET on the first day and end by 1pm ET on the last.

Applications are closed

Please note: Because Janelia conferences are intentionally small and selective, we may not be able to accommodate all applicants. We strive for as broad a representation across labs as possible and therefore may limit participation to one person per group. Preference is given to applicants who are active researchers in the field and intend to present their work as a poster or selected talk.

node_body | node_body


Hari Shroff, HHMI/Janelia Research Campus
Ruth Sims, Institut de la Vision/Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Srini Turaga, HHMI/Janelia Research Campus
Laura Waller, University of California, Berkeley

Invited Participants

Emma Alexander, Northwestern University
Hui Cao, Yale University
Benedict Diederich, Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology
William Freeman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Vidya Ganapati, Swarthmore College
Roarke Horstmeyer, Duke University
Grace Kuo, Meta Reality Labs
Patrick La Riviere, University of Chicago
Anat Levin, Israel Institute of Technology
Shalin Mehta, Chan Zuckerberg Science Institute
Kristina Monakhova, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ren Ng, University of California, Berkeley
Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles
Nicolas Pégard, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Rafael Piestun, University of Colorado, Boulder
Kaspar Podgorski, Allen Institute
Demetri Psaltis, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL)
Akshat Dave, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Magdalena Schneider, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Yoav Shechtman, Israel Institute of Technology
Alipasha Vaziri, Rockefeller University
Ashok Veeraraghavan, Rice University
Abbie Watnik, Naval Research Laboratory
Sixian You, Massachusetts Institute of Technology