Main Menu (Mobile)- Block

Main Menu - Block

Mechanisms of Inter-Organismal Extended Phenotypes

janelia7_blocks-janelia7_secondary_menu | block
More in this Conferences
node_title | node_title

Mechanisms of Inter-Organismal Extended Phenotypes

custom_misc-custom_misc_format_date | block
June 2 - 5, 2024
node:field_application_link | entity_field
node:field_image | entity_field
node:field_content_summary | entity_field

Extended phenotypes are the effects of genes outside of the organism. This conference will focus on the manipulations of one organism by another, such as the induction of novel behaviors by parasites. We will bring together researchers studying diverse topics, ranging from the microscopic, such as the manipulation of cells by viruses, to the macroscopic, including the induction by parasites of new organs on plants. The two major goals of the meeting are to seek common themes emerging from studies of disparate systems and to identify new tools and approaches that may be broadly useful in studying extended phenotypes.

Janelia will cover lodging and meals for all participants, and travel support is available to those in need (please indicate need in that portion of the application). Participants are expected to stay for the duration of the workshop and will also have an opportunity to extend their stay for continued discussion and collaborative time. 

The meeting will begin at 6pm ET on the first day and end by 1pm ET on the last.

Application Deadline (extended): Jan 8, 2024 (11:59 pm ET)

Please note: Because Janelia conferences are intentionally small and selective, we may not be able to accommodate all applicants. We strive for as broad a representation across labs as possible and therefore may limit participation to one person per group. Preference is given to applicants who are active researchers in the field and intend to present their work as a poster or selected talk.

node_body | node_body


David Stern, Janelia Research Campus/HHMI
Saskia Hogenhout, John Innes Centre
Vera Ros, Wageningen University & Research
Eric Calvo, National Institutes of Health/NIAID

Invited Participants

Shelley Adamo, Dalhousie University                                                                                                         
Justine Boutry, University of Montpellier                                                                                                
Flaminia Catteruccia, HHMI/Harvard University                                                                               
Charissa de Bekker, Utrecht University                                                                                                    
Nolwenn Dheilly, Institut Pasteur International Network, Department of Virology of Paris           
Abdoulaye Diabaté, Research Institute of Health Sciences (IRSS), Burkina Faso          
George Dimopoulos, Johns Hopkins University                                                                                    
Carolyn Elya, Harvard University                                                                                                                 
Maridel Fredericksen, University of Basel                                                                                    
Takema Fukatsu, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
Mohamed-Ali Hakimi, INSERM/University of Grenoble Alpes
Sophien Kamoun, The Sainsbury Laboratory                                                                                       
Matt Kasson, West Virginia University
Frederic Libersat, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev                                                                  
Allyson MacLean, University of Ottawa                                                                                                    
Ellen Martinson, University of New Mexico                                                                                            
Kerry Mauck, University of California, Riverside
Paul Nabity, University of California, Riverside                                                                                   
Joe Parker, California Institute of Technology                                                                                      
Karin Peterson, National Institutes of Health/NIAID                                                                      
Julien Pompon, University of Montpellier                                                                                                              
Steven Runo, Kenyatta University                                                                                                                
Masa Sato, Kyoto Prefectural University                                                                                                           
Graham Stone, University of Edinburgh
Yuko Ulrich, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology                                                               
Ajai Vyas, Nanyang Technological University                                                                                       
Renier van der Hoorn, University of Oxford
Arielle Woznica, University of Texas at Austin